Feathers and Fun

Once again I am behind on this blogging thing. Between life, projects and trying to update multiple websites I get a little lost. Life of a mom right?

Well, I am home from my latest travels. What started out as a quick trip to CA to pick up my daughter from visiting my parents turned into 2 weeks there and another 2 weeks in Dallas. It was a great vacation but boy am I glad to be back. Not only am I glad to just get back into the swing of things of normal life but I have a big project to finish and a few more on the way. News on those in a minute.

While I was in CA, I was shopping with my mom and bought a pair of feather earrings. I was instantly a fan. At one point I wanted to be trendy and get the feathers in my hair but my husband convinced me not to. This is the next best thing. But when I saw how extremely easy it would be to make a pair, I knew that would be the only pair I would ever purchase. So off to the craft store I went.

This is just one of the pairs I made. I only bought a couple kinds of feathers to start but I made 3 pairs. They are for sale on my Facebook page (plug away, right?). Later in the week I introduced my parents to the wonderful world of Hobby Lobby (there’s a brand new one about an hour north of them) and I found a great deal on new feathers. So there will definitely be more of these coming. They are so fun and colorful.

As you know from my previous blogs, painting is my favorite part of being creative. And in recent months, palm trees have become one of my favorite things to paint. I spent a lot of time around them recently and I think I am getting pretty darn good of painting them. Well, my in-laws needed a new sign for their Hawaii house to tell people to remove their shoes. They sent me a photo of the words they wanted and said they wanted it in more earthy colors like their condo.

They loved it so much, they asked me to make another one.

I also made these while I was gone.

They are flip flop wine coasters. Aren’t they so cute? I had seen these at 2 different stores for $6.95 EACH! Really? I think I spent that much on the supplies to make 12 of these. I went back to Hobby Lobby in Texas to get the supplies to make more of these. Look for them for sale in the future. Maybe a deal for Christmas. Ooohhh…ideas!!

Last on my list, I started the Avengers canvases. They are coming out so great.

I can’t take credit for the original designs, but I did hand draw and paint everything. Follow me on Facebook to see all the progress and check back here soon for the finished project. And check out Sharilyn Wells Photography‘s blog to see what she is doing for her son’s Superhero room. These canvases will compliment everything wonderfully.

Okay, I lied. There is one more thing I need to tell you about before I sign off. Remember a blog or so ago when I talked about my favorite two people? Well, one I just mentioned (Shari), but the other one, Sarah, has asked me to be a part of her wedding. Can you imagine how excited I am? This is up there with being asked to be IN the wedding. Oh wait, is that what you thought I meant? LOL! What I mean is, she has been searching for favors for her bridesmaids and groomsmen and asked me to make them. That is so cool. To be a part of something this important is really just so amazing and I cannot wait to see what she has in mind.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wedesignwecreate
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 01:07:49

    LOVE the feather earrings! šŸ˜€

    Reply

Leave a Reply

