Pin Pin Pinterest

First, if you are not doing Pinterest, you need to start. It is amazing! Especially if you are into arts and crafts because sometimes you have an idea but you just need a boost. Or more often, you didn’t know such ideas existed and usually they are awesome and you already have all the supplies. Anyway, I saw this yesterday and I love it.

It doesn’t describe me exactly because I have made a TON of stuff I’ve seen on there, but it still works because I think we are a small group…people that actually use Pinterest for ideas to use. So, I saw some cool things recently and like I said above, sometimes you already have all the supplies. I did! So here goes.

I love to paint. Duh. And I’ve tried painting on glass with just regular acrylic paint and it works, but it doesn’t stay on if you wash it. So I was on the lookout for glass paint. Found it! But while searching on Pinterest, I saw that you could draw on glass or ceramic with Sharpee markers and cook it and it would work the same. Um, that is way cool and super easy. So I did both, paint and Sharpee.

These are the Sharpee glasses before heading to the oven.

Here is the piece I painted. The left photo shows what it is. I got 3 of these in a pack for super cheap at Old Time Pottery. They are bottles used to preserve food but I am going to use mine for dish soap. (Why not?) I just took off the top metal and plastic pieces and painted it. I let this dry for about an hour (I did the next craft) and then it was off to the oven for all three pieces. Instructions for the Sharpee art were the same for the paint and were listed on the bottle of paint. Let dry and then cook at 350 for 30 minutes. But, you have to do it this way; put the pieces in the COOL oven. Then turn the oven on to 350. Start your timer when you start the oven so it’s 30 minutes total. Once the 30 minutes are over, turn the oven off and leave the stuff in there to let it cool. I took a nap for a bit so my stuff stayed in the oven most of the afternoon, but it was cool so it was okay. Took it out and….

Voila!!

I know what you’re thinking…they look exactly the same! I know! It’s great. They came out perfect!! I don’t have anything bad to say about the painted soap dispenser. But I have a few things to say about the Sharpee glasses. First, the yellow burned off. Second, you can see the pen strokes, but I think that just comes with using a Sharpee. And third, I love the way they came out, but I think it’s better to do this on white glass or ceramic, not clear. It looks cool, but in the picture, I put a napkin in each glass so you could see. Most blogs I have seen do the Sharpee thing for writing on mugs or keepsake plates for birthdays and parties. So just keep that in mind.

So while these were drying before the oven, I did another pinned craft.

Food coloring, glue, and a vase. What the heck am I going to do with those. Add a drop of food coloring to a cup with some glue, mix,Β  paint onto vase. What?!

You can see the streaks a bit but wait, it has to dry.

Oh my gosh! So cool!! A simple vase from a store-bought flower turned into an adorable sea glass sort of creation. I love it! And it was so simple.

Note: don’t move the vase with wet hands. πŸ˜‰

65 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Aug 14, 2012 @ 13:39:30

    I’ve actually made some stuff that I pinned on Pinterest too πŸ™‚ Anyway, I vote the paint, not sharpies πŸ™‚ Also, that vase is awesome. I shall have to try that!

    Reply

  2. yanimae
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 22:41:22

    i actually made some stuff too but i havent pinned it on pinterest yet. hehe

    Reply

  3. Widii
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 22:42:58

    very creative, looks awesome!

    Reply

  4. cartoonmick
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 22:44:51

    Creation is invigorating, satisfying, and good exercise for the mind.
    Creating the cartoons on my blog is one of my favorite pastimes.

    Reply

  5. noskriando
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 22:45:59

    Adorei o post, sou fΓ£ de artesanato, visite tambΓ©m meu blog.
    Noskriando.wordpress.com.

    Reply

  6. MoreorLessTiffany
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 23:25:32

    Ok, agreed, the vase is really cool. Love your soap dispenser! Congrats on FP!

    Reply

  7. earwaxdissertation
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 23:31:11

    Interesting. I’ve gotten inspiration for my chapbooks cover designs from that site. But sometimes its overwhelming and I get craft overload on Pinterest. Thx for sharing.

    Reply

    • Gwenniesmom
      Aug 15, 2012 @ 23:45:28

      I completely agree that it can be overwhelming, intimidating, and you can get craft overload. LOL! But it’s awesome when you do stuff and it works out!!!

      Reply

  8. Musings of a Mom, Interruped
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 23:43:04

    I have pinned FAR more than I’ve actually done on Pinterest, but what I have done has turned out well. I can’t wait to try the colored glue on the vases! My kids can do their own and if they don’t like it or we get tired of it – washes away! Hooray! Thank you for a great post!

    Reply

  9. Gwenniesmom
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 23:45:59

    Thank you to everyone for all the comments and interest in my blogs! You’re all awesome!! Come by anytime and see what’s new.

    Reply

  10. GG
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 23:50:00

    Very nice. I will do for my glass flower pot.

    Reply

  11. zeedlle
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 00:05:43

    So awesome!

    Reply

  12. zombiesnunicorns
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 00:26:59

    I love sugar skull everything… I love these!!!

    Reply

  13. bjones1031
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 00:40:04

    My mom and I spent 3 hours yesterday fixing a dolls hair based on a recipe for success we found on pinterest. Worked like a charm. And now i can join the “I made something I found on pinterest club too!”

    Reply

  14. Manisha
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 00:52:12

    I just made stuff, although mine was more like a recipe, that I found on Pinterest! It’s a great tool, and your paintings are cute! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  15. Daniela
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 00:53:35

    Adorable!

    Reply

  16. S-S Mattie
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 01:00:56

    Pinterest Rules!

    Reply

  17. CatenaTravel
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 01:08:14

    Reblogged this on Catena Travel.

    Reply

  18. Archana
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 01:25:45

    Superb !! πŸ™‚ Congrats for being in freshly prepared !! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  19. shuangoiadept
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 02:27:05

    Ha ha ha!! That note got me all..! Awesome paintings….!
    Cheers mate πŸ˜€

    Reply

  20. missmojiberry
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 03:50:16

    Never heard of ‘pinterest’ but I’m all over this now. I’m a teacher, will get the kids doing alsorts! πŸ˜€

    Reply

    • Gwenniesmom
      Aug 16, 2012 @ 08:22:40

      Oh man!!! It’s amazing! But beware, it’s just like when Myspace and Facebook first came out and you could sit for hours finding friends and such…Pinterest can be quite addicting.

      Reply

  21. flaircreations
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 04:18:26

    I am a big fan of Pin and, like you, have made quite a few of my pins. I run a kids art class in my local area and your last food coloring project has given me a good idea. Using jam jars, doing your sea glass effect, then wire working a little handle and planting some seeds in it. Great, Thanks!!!

    Reply

  22. dakrizzz
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 04:29:50

    I’ thinking of making a new Pinterest one…your ideas are so great!!

    Reply

  23. The Local Traveler NS
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 05:31:49

    These are so cool. I think I’ll try it on my next day off.

    Reply

  24. Uma
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 05:48:43

    Those look really cool : D

    Reply

  25. MissRoyalDisaster
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 06:03:37

    I love the bottle with a skull on, it looks so hip, amazing idea!

    Reply

  26. Laura T.
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 06:05:12

    I’ve recently joined pinterest and although I haven’t made anything yet (still collecting ideas), I’m sure I will as I now have a blog as some gentle ‘encouragement’ to get projects done! It’s nice to see someone feeling so inspired by the site, but I agree that there are few people who could wear that badge with honour.

    Reply

  27. haugustine1
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 06:24:04

    Very effective!

    Reply

  28. kitchen
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 06:41:19

    The sharpee glasses are great. Well you did it great because you really have the talent in painting and expressed your personality in your paintings.

    Reply

  29. amboga
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 08:15:46

    Very nice….looks awesome!

    Reply

  30. A Gracious Life
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 08:17:33

    I love the vase. It’s beautiful

    Reply

  31. ranu802
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 08:30:18

    Wow,you actually are very creative!

    Reply

  32. Mary
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 08:32:30

    Very creative and the vase looks great! Never been on pinterest – guess i don’t understand it.

    Reply

    • Gwenniesmom
      Aug 16, 2012 @ 08:59:02

      Here’s the quick rundown. You know when you are looking for something new online and you find it…like a recipe or something. In the old days (LOL), you would copy and paste it in a word document and save it or bookmark it and hope you remember to go back. Well Pinterest is a virtual pinboard. You pin that photo or recipe to your personal page and you can organize them and go back later. It’s pretty great.

      Reply

      • Mary
        Sep 11, 2012 @ 08:39:36

        Thanks for explaining it to me. I guess I should check it out and see if it’s something that would be useful with my art. Appreciate it! Mary

  33. Floyda Foley
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 09:42:11

    Very creative, great idea!

    Reply

  34. littlecitybot
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 09:53:33

    yeahhh! awesome! i love pinterest also..the food pins are my downfall. i can’t go on pinterest before lunch because it makes me too hungry.

    i love your little crafts! your day of the dead skull is dope! i’m a big fan of sugar skulls so this was super cool! good work! x

    Reply

  35. Fenya
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 10:55:59

    Love the blue vase!

    Reply

  36. FireIceAdmin
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 11:06:14

    We’ve Just Started on Pinterest We’re Obsessed Already http://www.fireicemagazine.com

    Reply

  37. Global Jaunt
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 11:57:01

    I’m a pinterest addict! I haven’t actually made anything yet though… thanks for the inspiration!

    Reply

  38. tetyanalive
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 12:33:34

    very cool!!

    Reply

  39. thatgirlwhoreadsbooks
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 12:56:24

    Thanks for the Sharpie tip. I love your work, it has a very DΓ­a de los Muertos feel.

    Reply

  40. toeachherownblog
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 13:04:32

    I did a post on my pinning success, too – I waste WAY too much time on Pinterest! Nice post πŸ™‚ http://toeachherownblog.wordpress.com/2012/08/03/pinspired/

    Reply

  41. MegansBeadedDesigns
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 15:28:30

    Mostly, Pinterest makes me hungry. I need to actually cook one of those recipes one of these days.

    Or… more likely… get my husband to cook ’em for me.

    Reply

  42. teresassong
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 22:02:29

    Reblogged this on Teresa's Song and commented:
    For the past few weeks, all I’ve had time to do is look at other people’s work and dream about when I’ll be creative again. Until then, please enjoy this Pinterest Success post from Chrissy.

    Reply

  43. guenbt
    Aug 17, 2012 @ 08:10:29

    This is so great. I love the blue vase.

    Reply

  44. Taylor
    Aug 17, 2012 @ 22:41:42

    I love Pinterest! What the heck did we do before it’s existence?! Congrats on FP!

    Reply

  45. Trackback: Mugstaches!! « Chrissy'sCreativeCreations

Leave a Reply

