October is Here!!!

My favorite month is here!! And that means it’s time for pumpkins, costumes, decorating, and the awesome changes that come with Fall. Unfortunately, I don’t get to see the leaves change too much now that I live in Florida, but I can still enjoy Fall and hope for at least a few days of chilly weather.  And I’m hosting a Halloween party this year. Can’t wait to see what sorts of shenanigans we are going to get ourselves into.

Every year it seems that I decorate the house earlier and earlier. I am proud to say that I waited until the official first day of Fall to start.

My house is a healthy mixture of scary and cute. Almost everything is handmade or hand painted. This is my front foyer area. Pretty simple, but festive.

My pirate pumpkin and witch. My mom made the witch a few years back and I made the pumpkin. It was a random day in October that I went to Michaels and they were having a pumpkin decorating day. And it was free. I just had to pay for the pumpkin and the accessories, but they provided paint and googly eyes and help if you needed it. So mom and I sat there for an extra hour or two and got creative.  You never know what sorts of fun activities places offer.

This is probably my favorite little setup. The reason is because these decorations go way back. If you know me, you know I am a bit quirky (not sure if that is the right word, but I’m sticking with it for now), so it won’t surprise you to find out that the alien, alien skull, and skull used to be regular decor in my bedroom as a teenager. No, I wasn’t gothic, I just like a bit of everything. Hello? You’ve seen my kitchen right? Eclectic maybe is a better word? Speaking of my kitchen, one of the coolest things about decorating this year, is that my kitchen is pretty much done. It’s already full of skulls and skeletons. 🙂 Anyhoo, my mom used to think that the alien came to life at night. LOL!!

These are my porch sitters. I love making things out of clay pots. So many things you can do. These guys are looking a little under the weather lately (they are kind of old) but they are still my cuties that greet you on the way up the stairs.

This is my newest piece of decoration. These are little candy buckets. They sell packs of about 10 of them at the dollar store. For years, I had popsicle sticks stuck in the bottoms and these would line my yard. I was browsing that awesome craft idea site, Pinterest, and saw someone made a wreath out of pumpkins like these. I wasn’t sure how they did it; I think they had one of those foam wreaths and then glued the pumpkins to it. I decided on a whim to make this so I just hot glued all the buckets together. It’s a little lopsided, but I love it.

And today I made these lovely curtains. I had some fabric from an anticipated project that fell through, so I made these. Now I am off to make a new table runner and place mats with some more awesome fabric! Happy October, everyone!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. L. Palmer
    Oct 25, 2012 @ 16:43:50

    My family goes all out for Halloween too (and we live in Southern California, so few fall colors too). Our whole front yard is bedazzled in spiderwebbing, Halloween lights, rubber bats, ghosts, and other Halloweenesque things.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

