Dr. Seuss Project

I was sitting here for the last couple minutes trying to think of a clever title for this blog and for the life  of me I could not think of one. I think I need to go on a run after this to clear my mind. It is NOT normal for me to not be able to think of something cute and possibly rhyming. Maybe it was the lack of sleep last night since my sick husband was coughing and laying on top of my legs all night. Okay, that’s a whole other blog post. LOL. On to the main focus here, enough rambling.

A customer commissioned me to paint 4 Dr. Seuss themed canvases for her classroom. She told me she wanted one with Horton, Cat in the Hat, Thing 1 &2, and Yertle the Turtle. She sent me a picture of the fabric she was using as curtains so I could get an idea of the colors she wanted and I was off to find samples. I looked online, pinned a couple photos, she looked, she loved, I got started.

(Click the photos to see them bigger. Large just didn’t work out as well)

Here is the drawing of Yertle. All hand-drawn of course.

The Cat in the Hat.

I have photos of the other drawings but I just wanted to give you an idea of my progress so you just get these two. Onto the finale.

Thing 1 & Thing 2. So adorable

The Cat in the Hat

Horton. Don’t you just want to give him a giant hug? So cute.

I’m saving the best for last. There is something about this one that just blows my mind. And as I told my customer, “I don’t like to toot my own horn, but TOOT TOOT!!” Something about this one just makes it pop off the canvas and to me, it doesn’t look painted. It looks like a print. The pictures don’t even show the pure awesomeness. (Okay, enough boasting)

It seems like these projects keep getting more and more fun to do. Anything cartoon is just so fun. My customer came home late last night to her package on the couch. She text me late and said, “OH MY GOD THESE ARE SO MUCH BETTER IN PERSON!!!!” Yes, all caps. Love that reaction I get from people.

Stay tuned in the next week or two…I sent off the wedding project I did for a friend and she is going to give out the gifts this weekend. After that, I can post pictures. They turned out awesome.

Leave a Reply

