Mugstaches!!

I am finally sitting down and writing some blogs about the Christmas presents I made this year. I only bought one gift this year! The rest were totally handmade. I feel so awesome about that. I am going to write a couple different posts with different items, read ’em all or pick and choose, but I hope you like my art and maybe you can try some next year…or buy from me. That is always an option too. 🙂

First up, Mustache mugs.

2012-12-19_09-14-42_321

This one is for my husbands bff, Aaron. This one was super special made because he is left handed so I had to make sure it was on the right side when he held the cup.

2012-12-25_08-39-17_831

And then this one for my husband. (Yes, he is wearing a snuggie, or actually this one is called a Forever Lazy. It was a bday present from his bff ^)

These were super fun mugs to make. Here’s what I did:

If you’ve read my other blog post “Pin Pin Pinterest” you have seen that I experimented with drawing and painting on glass. The idea I saw on Pinterest for that stated that you could use Sharpee pens and cook the glassware in the oven and it would be permanent. Well…. this is what I learned from both projects. When you use a Sharpee on clear glassware, (I used wine glasses) it stays. I rubbed the heck out of the drawing and it wouldn’t come off. The only thing I noticed was that the yellow color burned off. No biggie. Since I had been successful with the glasses, I figured it would work just as well on the white mugs. After all, the original pin showed using white mugs and white plates. Perfect.

DSCN0969

This is what happened. The black Sharpee did not stay. So, I simply repainted the mugs with my paint specifically designed for glass, cooked them in the oven, and voila. Perfect. (The photo above is another mug I made for my husband that I have to go back and paint.)

I made another mug for my father-in-law. I used Sharpee on this one but I used color Sharpees.

IMG953807 (2)

Maybe it’s just something with the black, not sure. But once I cooked this one, I also rubbed the heck out of it and everything stayed put except the black. So I went back in with black paint and did like I did with the ‘stache mugs. Does anyone know what the symbol on this mug stands for? Maybe a free pair of earrings for the first person who gets it right!! 🙂 Just comment and guess.

But of course, there is something else you can’t forget with these……..hand wash only. No dishwasher. Hubster didn’t know that and this happened……

DSCN0968

At least I still have the outline. Maybe the Sharpee just needs to be cooked more than once. Ah well. Now I have something else to do.

Stay tuned for a few more posts about other gifts.
Happy New Year!!!

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Commissioned Christmas « Chrissy'sCreativeCreations
  2. dykeevolution
    Jan 05, 2013 @ 00:04:24

    These are awesome Chrissy! You do so good 🙂 – Jen

    Reply

  3. angelic
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 16:33:46

    Superman? Maybe Super Beachbum with the palms or coconut trees?

    Reply

  4. angelic
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 17:56:12

    How about a hint?

    Reply

  5. big perm
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 18:08:24

    Pilot-superman…. palm trees-something to do with in and out burger.

    Reply

  6. Tracy quezada
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 20:06:40

    In and out

    Reply

  7. Donna
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 21:15:37

    Super vacation to Bermuda!

    Reply

  8. Tracy quezada
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 22:46:45

    San diego

    Reply

  9. Brooke Bennetch
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 01:33:26

    Hey Chrissy….they are super cool mugs btw! You so crafty, the mustaches represent Prostate Cancer Awareness!!!

    Reply

    • Gwenniesmom
      Jan 08, 2013 @ 09:28:09

      Thanks Brooke! And thanks for entering the contest. While mustaches are just generally awesome, they do also help promote men’s health. But the question for the contest is about the Palm Tree mug. 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

