Chrissy’s Banana Bread

I feel like I can officially call this MY bread because I didn’t follow a specific recipe and I added things that were not in a recipe.

This past Friday night my husband was gone and I felt like baking. I had 3 really ripe bananas so I thought about trying banana bread. I had never made it before so I called my bff because it just so happened she planned to make banana bread too. She text me a recipe. I headed to my cupboard to see if I had all the right ingredients. I did, but I also had some almond flour and thought maybe I’d try that rather than white flour. So I text my other bff for advice. BFF 1 is more of a “follow the recipe” type where BFF2 is a “throw it together and see what happens” type. I told her that I was going to make banana bread with almond flour and she sent me a Paleo recipe. She also let me know that almond flour is heavier than regular flour and I should add extra baking soda or baking powder. So…I took what I learned from both recipes and BFFs and came up with my own concoction.

Besides the almond flour variation, I was also just looking around to see what I had in the spice department to add. I didn’t have chocolate chips or nuts, but I did have honey, baking cocoa, and cinnamon. I was already using sugar so I nixed the honey but stuck with the cocoa and cinnamon. One recipe called for 1 egg, the other for 2. I just went for it! I created my own.

Here is my bread on it’s way into the oven. It’s in a Corningware dish because I don’t have a loaf pan (obviously not a bread making girl). The cocoa made it very dark.

20160923_193819

My house smelled soooooooooo good all evening and into the next morning. I feel like I may make banana bread more often just to recreate this smell. OMG!

And then, voila! Soooo delicious!!

20160923_203107

What’s funny is how my husband’s and my minds played tricks on us as we were reaching for bites. I saw brown and knew it was bread so my mind when to gingerbread. My husband saw brown and thought brownies. He loved the bread but kept saying, “Nope. Still not brownies.” (I should make him some brownies)

Here’s my recipe:

Ingredients:
3 ripe bananas
1/3 cup melted butter (I use old fashioned salted butter)
2 cups almond flour
1 tbsp baking soda
Pinch of salt (Yes, I added salt even with salted butter. I like salt. I used one twist of my pink himalayan salt)
2 eggs, beaten
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 tbsp baking cocoa

20160927_121746

Some ingredients are gluten free and/or organic but this is not a requirement for this recipe. It’s just what I have in my house.

Preheat oven to 350
Grease baking pan
**Side Note: A friend of mine taught me this fun trick. Save the wrappers from your sticks of butter. When you need to butter or grease a pan, rub the wrapper on your pan. The left over butter is the perfect amount. This is what I did and it’s the best thing ever.

In a large bowl, mash bananas using a fork until they are nice and mushy. Add melted butter and stir. Add all other ingredients except the almond flour and stir. Slowly add the almond flour and stir. No need to get aggressive, just casually mix everything together.

Pour into your baking dish and put it in the oven. I set my timer for 30 minutes. After 30 minutes the middle was still jello-y so I set the timer for another 15 minutes. I checked the middle with a fork and the middle was clean.

I couldn’t wait until the morning to taste it, so I cut a small piece out the corner to test. Soooo moist and yummy! By Sunday morning the bread was gone but it was just as moist a couple days later. It was really spectacular. I will make this again for sure.

Variations I suggest…Don’t add sugar. I think the bananas are sweet enough that you really don’t need the sugar. The first recipe I saw said 1 whole cup. I only added 1/2 but I bet I didn’t need it. Maybe next time I will omit the sugar and add the honey instead. Obviously adding nuts and chocolate chips is a good idea.

If you happen to try my recipe, leave me a comment and let me know how you liked it! Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

