Yoga Thursday

Just like with all creative endeavors, you start with a plan. It may work out, it may not. When I decided to revamp the blog (again) and have certain days to write about certain things it was a great way to get me started. I’ve enjoyed writing my #NamasteTuesday posts all about my yoga journey. But sometimes yoga happens when it isn’t Tuesday and I want to write on a different day. So…I’m not saying goodbye to #NamasteTuesday but I’m going to allow myself to not stick to it and have freedom with my posts. Which brings us to today.

Today is a pretty significant day in my yoga world. Facebook reminded me that two years ago today was the first time I took a yoga class taught by my bff and yoga bff, Isis. That day I did not think my life would turn into what it is today. I am forever grateful for that class.

I am also doing the second backbend challenge, #Bentyogis2, and today’s pose is pigeon. Of course I had to take the king pigeon variation.

But before I show you that, I want to show you my very first time trying king pigeon. If you don’t already know, this is one of my super fave poses. It’s also the first pose I ever wanted to try and progress in. I wanted to be able to bend, reach back to grab my toes, and not fall over. There is a lot of balance in this pose. So last year in September I grabbed my strap and started.

screenshot_2016-10-27-09-43-40-1

There’s a few things to say about this photo. One, my left leg is practically underneath me; in a perfect execution of this pose, that leg would be perpendicular to my body. Two, I’m barely bending back. I’m thinking at this point I didn’t realize it was a backbend. And last, I clearly cannot get my arms back to grab my toes let alone balance.

Flash forward two months and me practicing this pose…

screenshot_2016-10-27-09-43-40-2

One, that front leg is still underneath me. Two, I reached back but look at my hilarious face! I’m not at all comfortable. I’m staining and hurting myself.

Just about a year later… (Today)

screenshot_2016-10-27-09-29-35

I am so incredibly comfortable in this pose now. You can’t see, but my front leg is much straighter now (not perpendicular yet but getting there), I can reach back with ease, and look at that backbend. My head dips down below my toes. Whoa!

This is why I always add the hashtag, #practicemakesprogress. It’s so true. You can see it! I can see it in so many poses. Even in the simpler Warrior poses, I can see how my lunges are deeper and my hips are more flexible. My shoulders… As much as I complain that my shoulders need work, they’ve come a long way since the start. This is what yoga practice does.

But I must say, yoga did not just make me more flexible. Yoga has made me into a better version of myself. Yoga has made me incredibly comfortable in my skin. I could go on all day about how powerful yoga, breathing, and meditation is, but I’ll just say its just that. Powerful.

Namaste.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah Zinn
    Oct 28, 2016 @ 09:52:38

    I love this!! I’ve been working on king pigeon and mermaid! I was so stinkin excited when I reached my arm back and grabbed my foot and didn’t fall over! It was amazing! I’ll have to start taking photos of my yoga poses so I can track their progress too!

    Reply

  2. pawan35
    Mar 30, 2017 @ 02:06:33

    You are an inspiration for others. Keep smiling and keep going. 🙏

    Reply

Leave a Reply

