Ducks and Carrots #FarmlifeFriday

Just a quick post for Farmlife Friday!!

We are officially duckless. The lady who took our 2 ducks about a month ago came back and got the other 2. She sent us photos of the reunion!

received_1642254472745845

They are all so happy to be back together and in a huge pond. The lady told us that our female assumed her position as head honcho immediately. We were sad to watch them go but happy that they could go to a great new home. She assured us that they won’t be eaten and they will live with her until their deaths.

After all the snow melted it started to rain and we have had only a couple days when the sun comes out. Of course my first thing on the agenda was clean out of the chicken coop. It was nice to go out there and not play slip-n-slide in all the mud. While I was outside on coop duty, I decided to go in the garden and rip out my lettuce plants. I remembered that we had carrots growing so I started to uproot one, then found another, then another, then a bunch!

20170118_163721

Some weren’t ready but others were pretty good size. It was neat to have a crop that was kind of a “set it and forget it” type.

20170118_170837

Digging those up reminded me that I need to go through all our seeds and figure out what we’re planting this year and get those baby sprouts started.

Chickens are still happy and laying like crazy. My husband is on a trip so the eggs aren’t getting eaten as fast as usual so I’m stocking up. I gave away another dozen this week.

20170122_151519

Happy Friday!!!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sylviaq
    Jan 28, 2017 @ 08:59:39

    Have you boiled an egg and how does it taste?

    Reply

    • Gwenniesmom
      Jan 31, 2017 @ 15:05:16

      I did boil a bunch of the eggs before I gave others away. They turned out great! I’ve been eating them on salad. We also soft boil eggs for breakfast. We call them “gross eggs” and they are Gwen’s favorite. They look and taste perfect!!

      Reply

  2. sylviaq
    Jan 28, 2017 @ 09:01:27

    I like your drinking cup in the photo😉❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

